Introduction to the Library

Scott Hines moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 2002 from New Jersey, where he was Digital Initiatives Librarian and Instructor in Communication at Rutgers University. He holds bachelors and masters degrees from the Rutgers School of Communication, Information, and Library Studies, and also studied chemistry, religion, and philosophy at New College of Florida.

You can contact Scott for

• Research assistance, help with literature reviews and database searching
• Schedule in-class training sessions tailored to specific content areas
• Questions about the collections and policies of PAU Library and of other Libraries
• Questions about using technology for teaching and research
• Questions about Canvas LMS
• Academic Technology policies, plans, and suggestions

Prior to joining PAU, Mary earned her Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) degree at San Jose State University (May, 2011).  She also holds M.S. degrees in Counseling (Counseling Psychology) and Education (Educational & Psychological Studies) from California State University, Hayward.

You can contact Mary for

• Questions about general library policies and procedures
• Questions about library services, including Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Course Reserves.
• Questions about materials in the collection, circulation policies, and online access
• Questions about library copies of PAU dissertations and psychological test materials
• Questions about your online library account in WorldCat (library catalog), including overdue items, requested items, and fine balances
• Assistance with navigating the library website and online library tools, including WorldCat, the PAU databases, ILL, and library guides.
• Assistance with using WorldCat, the PAU databases, and other online library tools to find and access materials
• Assistance with setting up and using Course Reserves
• Assistance with setting up faculty keys and other special items for circulation
• Assistance with requests for materials to add to the collection
• Reporting errors in the journals list, ILL, WorldCat, the PAU databases, and other online library tools
• Providing feedback on online and in-person library experiences

Andrew hails from the East Coast and earned his Master of Library and Information Science (MS) from Simmons University in 2013. He earned his bachelor’s degree in Communication from Keene State College in 2010, and has also focused on gender studies, queer theory, philosophy, and English literature. 

You can contact Andrew for

• Research assistance i.e. database searching, citing sources, etc.
• Receiving in-person/virtual instruction on library research tools
• Accessing and using library collections and resources 
• Questions about navigating the library website, catalog, and databases