ILL is an important resource for conducting effective research, and it can be best understood in the context of the research process.
As you go through the research process, you'll find that some of the most relevant materials you find when searching may not be readily available. It's impossible for every library to provide every resource, which would be cost prohibitive, and full-text access can vary from one search platform to another. However, ILL allows you to request free electronic delivery of inaccessible documents, like journal articles and book chapters. And, as an added bonus, you can request items to add to our library collections, like eBooks and streaming videos, all using our Tipasa service platform!
Each Tipasa request is reviewed and routed to an appropriate fulfillment source — the open web, another library, or our library. The goal is to satisfy your information needs to the fullest extent possible, in a timely manner, while maintaining full compliance with the legal parameters and restrictions inherent in sharing resources with other libraries, as well as with our library's collection development policy if an item request is called for.
To learn how this all works, click on the numbered tabs below. These tabs provide a four-step overview for navigating ILL successfully to enhance your research process, from initiating your search, to submitting a Tipasa request, to troubleshooting any issues you might have along the way, to exploring alternative access options if necessary. All resource links are listed in the ILL Toolkit section of this guide, under the navigation menu.
A wide variety of search platforms are available for locating and accessing scholarly information online. Some are provided by the library, including our databases and library catalog, while others are available free of charge on the web. These research tools should be used to search for content in full text before a Tipasa request is submitted, to speed access for you and prevent unnecessary requests.
Use the link below to review our library guide that presents these search platforms for your use. Help documentation and access links are provided, but we welcome you to contact the librarians for any additional assistance you might need: librarian@paloaltou.edu.
Important Note: We do not require our researchers to conduct an exhaustive search using every available search platform before submitting a Tipasa request. However, we do recommend searching the library databases, the library catalog, and Google Scholar, at minimum. You will find comprehensive information about these platforms using the link above. This strategy will increase your chances of finding online access, without investing an exorbitant amount of time on your search or wasting your time on unnecessary requests. However, please keep in mind that some of the library's search platforms offer specialized content that can only be accessed directly from the platform, as in the case of the our dataset, streaming video, clinical resource, and reference material collections. Consequently, becoming familiar all of the search platforms linked above is highly recommended for tracking down exactly what you need for your research and developing robust research skills.
Details for submitting a Tipasa request for materials that are not otherwise available are provided below. Use the accordions for a general overview and for help with completing each of the three types of request forms.
Use the information in the accordions below to help you complete and submit a request form.
Detailed submission instructions are provided at the top of each Tipasa request form.
ILL Request Processing: This section covers the schedule for ILL services. It also specifies limits on ILL request submission counts, provides links to your library account and ILL portal, and includes contact information for the PAU librarians and the ILL staff.
ILL Request Fulfillment: This section explains the ILL fulfillment process and timeline, as well as how to manage your notification settings.
ILL Deliveries: This section explains the process for downloading your electronic deliveries and provides information regarding download limits and request expiration dates.
Article Copy Request Form: This section appears only on the article copy request form and provides basic information for filling out the form for requesting electronic delivery of a journal article copy.
Chapter Copy Request Form: This section appears only on the chapter copy request form and provides basic information for filling out the form for requesting electronic delivery of a book chapter copy.
This information only appears on the "Other Items" request form and consists of a single section that provides all the details you'll need for requesting an item from the PAU Library when an ILL request isn't an option. Please read it carefully before filling out and submitting the form.
Required fields contain citation information that's essential for a PAU librarian to successfully process your request.
About My Item Section: Your request will not submit if you leave a required field blank in this section. When a request is auto-filled from the databases or library catalog, most of the required fields will be filled out for you on the form that opens, but some information might be missing. Whether you're completing an auto-filled or manual request, required information might be unavailable to you. If so, you may enter "NA" in the blank required field; otherwise, the form won't submit. Please be aware that requests submitted with missing and/or inaccurate information generally take longer to identify and locate from a viable source.
About My Request Section: All required fields in this section must be completed in order for your request to be processed once we identify and locate the requested library material. Use the dropdown menu to indicate if you'll accept non-English materials, then add a note to indicate the language(s) you'll accept. A request for a non-English publication will be cancelled otherwise, as translation services are not available. You will also ned to indicate the date after which the material will no longer be needed; once this date passes, your request will be cancelled automatically in the Tipasa system.
My Address and Contact Information: All required fields in this section must be completed in order for the PAU Library to contact you about your request. Your address and contact information will auto-fill from your library account, because you'll already be signed in.
Optional fields collect information for confirming the item being requested, which speeds request processing. Please fill out the optional fields if you have the requested information at your disposal.
About My Item Section: For journals and journal articles, the most useful piece of optional information is the International Standard Serial Number (ISSN). The ISSN is a unique identifier that allows for precisely tracking a serial publication through the ILL system. An ISSN is 8 digits in length and should be entered with a hyphen in the middle. A journal can have multiple ISSNs, depending on how many formats are available (e.g., print vs. electronic). If at least one ISBN is not listed on an article request form, the ILL staff will have to look one up, which delays processing.
For books and book chapters, the most useful piece of optional information is the book's International Standard Book Number (ISBN). A ISBN is a unique identifier that allows for precisely tracking a book within the ILL system. An ISBN can be a 9-digit or 13-digit number, and it can be entered with or without any hyphenation. A book can have multiple ISBNs, depending how many formats are available (e.g., hardback vs. paperback vs. electronic). If at least one ISBN is not listed on a chapter request form, the ILL staff will have to look one up, which can delay processing.
Some books will have one or more ISBNs as well as one or more ISSNs, because they were published in a book series. If that's the case, please report both types of numbers when filling out a chapter request form, if both are available, to help us provide you with optimal service.
About My Request Section: Please add any notes that might assist the ILL staff in locating the materials being requested and/or providing you with assistance.
My Address and Contact Information Section: You're phone number will auto-fill if it's already listed in your library account. If not, you can add it manually, but you'll need to go to your library account to set up notifications if you want your ILL deliveries sent via text. Otherwise, ILL deliveries will only be sent to you via email as well as to your library account's ILL portal
Click on the button at the bottom of the request form to submit.
Fill out the Article Copy request form as shown in the accordions below.
Fill out the Chapter Copy request form as shown in the accordions below.
Fill out the Other Items request form as shown in the accordions below.
If you run into any difficulties while using Tipasa, you can refer to the information in the accordions below for troubleshooting help or email the librarians directly for assistance: librarian@paloaltou.edu.
Placing a request is pretty straightforward, but issues can arise in some circumstances.
All current PAU students, faculty, and staff are authorized to use ILL services. If you are are an authorized user but cannot place a request due to a problem with your account, please email librarian@paloaltou.edu as soon as possible, so we can take corrective action.
Request Limit: There is no limit on the number of ILL requests that can be submitted through the Tipasa system by an authorized user; however, each authorized user is only allowed to have a maximum of 15 requests in progress at any given time. If you have 15 requests pending, you'll be able to submit additional requests as the pending requests are completed or cancelled. To check on your pending requests, use the links in the ILL Toolkit to access the ILL portal in you library account.
Missing Data: The ILL request form will not submit one or more of the required fields is left unfilled. Please double-check your entries and try again. If you don't have required information at your disposal, you can enter "NA" to force the form to submit.
Incorrect Date Format: When indicating the "need by" date, use the calendar function to ensure the date is entered in the correct format. Otherwise, the form won't submit.
Once you submit a request, you'll receive notifications via email as it moves through the Tipasa system. You'll need to review each notification in case follow up is required. Each notifications should be self-explanatory. The most critical notifications are described below.
If you receive a notification requesting additional information, you'll need to respond promptly in order for your request to be processed. If you still need the item, you'll need to reply as indicated in a timely manner. Failure to reply will delay processing, and your request may be cancelled or expire before it can be resolved. If you no longer need the item, you should cancel the request in your ILL portal using the link in the ILL Toolkit.
If you receive this notification, your request has been canceled. Read the notification for cancellation details and recommendations for follow-up.
You will receive this notification if you requested a document that's freely available online, alerting you that a librarian at PAU will be delivering it to you through the Tipasa system.
You will receive this notification when the document you requested has been supplied and delivered through the Tipasa system. Access your download using the link in the notification or by going to your ILL portal, which is linked in the ILL Toolkit. You will need to download the document within 30 days, and no more than five downloads are allowed. Download and save the document promptly to ensure you don't lose access; otherwise, you will need to resubmit your request.
Notifications: When your ILL request has been filled, you will receive an email notification that includes a download link. If you don't receive a notification email in a timely manner, use one of the links in the ILL Toolkit to navigate to the ILL portal in your library account and locate the request to see if a document is available for download. If so, you will need to click on the "My Profile" tab in your library account to see if your email address is correct. The default email address is your PAU email address. You can also check your SMS notification settings and adjust them if necessary to receive text alerts.
If you have not received a notification via email or text, and you don't find a delivery in your library account, please email the librarians at librarian@paloaltou.edu and/or the ILL librarian at ill@paloaltou.edu for an update on your request. DO NOT click on the "Resubmit" button, which is ONLY for use when a request has expired. Resubmitting an unexpired request will duplicate the request and delay processing.
Expired Requests: You must download and save your deliveries as soon as possible. Download links expire after 30 days or five (5) downloads, whichever comes first. Please note that the same expiration policy applies regardless of how you access your delivery, whether via email or via your library account. Once a download link expires, the request also expires.
An unfilled request will expire on the date entered in the "need by" date box on the request form. Please allow at least one month for delivery when filling out a request form, unless you have a hard deadline.
Resubmitting a Request: If a request expires, you will need to click on the "Resubmit" button next to the request in your ILL portal if you still need the item. DO NOT click on the "Resubmit" button if the request has not yet expired, or the request will duplicate and delay processing.
Canceled Requests: If your request is canceled by the library, you will receive a notification regarding the particulars, including alternative options.
Research materials can be inaccessible for a number of different reasons, all of them frustrating. If you're struggling to locate elusive information, even after submitting a Tipasa request, you may have other options.
Your librarians are ready, willing, and able to help you uncover these options. Whenever we receive a Tipasa request, we employ a variety of troubleshooting strategies and notify you if there are any issues. If a request cannot be fulfilled, your final notification will explain the issue and advise you accordingly.
The first step in finding alternative options for accessing elusive materials is to read your final request notification and follow the instructions. The second step is to contact the librarians by emailing librarian@paloaltou.edu, so we can help you with questions or even walk you through next steps. We're always happy to hear from our researchers and support them through the research process!
If you would like to know more about library materials that can be difficult to track down, please explore the topics in the accordions below.
Library materials show up in a database search if if they have been indexed, meaning a record has been created to represent the the material in the database. Indexing typically includes the citation information, an abstract or summary, subject headings, the language of publication, and other details that are helpful for evaluating the material. The record can be fully viewed by clicking on the title in the results list.
Unfortunately, indexing is not necessarily indicative of availability through PAU or through ILL. PAU availability is contingent on the content of the library's physical and electronic collections. ILL availability is contingent on the institutional policies and subscription terms and conditions to which other libraries must adhere when they subscribe to electronic content. If an item is requested for purchase by PAU, availability is contingent on the library's collection development policy and budget.
In addition, sometimes research materials are indexed before they've actually been published, and there can be a time lag between the publication date and the date an item is available for library access. This lag may be brief, to allow time for subscription-related processing. Longer lags are usually due to a publishing embargo. Some publishers impose embargoes on their electronic journals, meaning recent articles cannot be shared or even accessed by a subscribing library for a fixed time period. Libraries usually subscribe to electric journals with an embargo in order to provide access to very expensive titles at a lower price point. Embargoes can range in length from six months to five years following publication, but the typical duration is one year.
Unfortunately some libraries won't deliver copies of digital content at all due to local policies and/or restrictive subscription terms. Libraries at major universities are often able to negotiate more favorable licensing terms for sharing electronic content, so they're in a better position to provide access when other libraries cannot. Although they usually charge a fee, our library covers the cost as part of its ILL services.
Go on to the next page, review the information on this page, or revisit the information on the previous page:
GETTING HELP: Having trouble finding what you need? Having trouble with access? You can rest assured, because the PAU librarians are here to assist you! Please email us at librarian@paloaltou.edu and provide the details so we can respond to you in the best way possible. We're happy to communicate with you about a question or concern via email, or we can set up a phone call or Zoom session if that would be helpful. No request is too big or too small, so please reach out at any time!
