Forensic Psychology Guide | Library and Web Resources

This book provides a broad overview of the history and practice of forensic psychology, illustrating the principles of how psychological knowledge can inform judges and juries in the U.S. legal system with reference to several high publicity cases. The second edition contains new case law and discusses its implications in the major areas of forensics, examining new developments in juvenile justice, malpractice complaints, and reproductive rights, among other topics.

Forensic psychologists have consistently relied upon Ethical Practice in Forensic Psychology for expert advice on negotiating ethical dilemmas in forensic contexts, including civil, criminal, and family law cases. This fully updated second edition presents an updated systematic decision‑making model based on positive ethics that practitioners can use to address conflicting roles and responsibilities, balance competing ethical and legal requirements, and maintain high standards of ethical practice and professional competence.

The APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy. Drawing upon contemporary psychological research and practice, this handbook provides a thorough, up-to-date, and far-reaching reference on forensic psychological issues that are important to researchers, practitioners and students in psychology, other social sciences and practice disciplines, and law.

The APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy. Drawing upon contemporary psychological research and practice, this Handbook provides a thorough, up-to-date, and far-reaching reference on forensic psychological issues that are important to researchers, practitioners and students in psychology, other social sciences and practice disciplines, and law.

This book examines the different ways that trauma is involved in the lives of those who interact with the justice system, and how trauma can be exacerbated in legal settings. It includes both victims and perpetrators in providing a perspective on trauma in general, and a framework that will guide those who evaluate and treat individuals in forensic settings. Comprehensive in scope, it covers key areas such as developmental issues, emotions, linguistic and communication difficulties, and special populations such as veterans, immigrants, abused women, incarcerated individuals, and children. The main objective of this book is to bring trauma to the fore in conducting forensic cases in order to understand these cases in greater depth and to provide appropriate interventions for a range of problems.

Over the past decade, forensic psychology has grown rapidly as a subject, with an increasing number of forensic psychologists working in demanding roles in prisons, secure training facilities, and high, medium and low security healthcare facilities as well as other parts of the criminal justice system. This Dictionary is designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners. It contains approximately 100 entries on key terms and concepts, arranged alphabetically and contributed by leading academic and practicing forensic psychologists.